Archive | 2:43 pm

Shh! Its a Secret: Sample Sales!

14 Jul

Did you happen to see my tweet yesterday about being in Shopping Heaven?!  If not, make sure you’re following me on Twitter – J.  Yesterday, I learned about secret sample sales and my life will never be the same again.  As most of you know I am a very frugal fashionista, but the problem with that is I LOVE designer brands.  Many times I’ve had to ignore my frugal side to make the inner fashionista happy.  Well not any more – I can be frugal AND still get the designer clothes, shoes, and everything in between that I crave.  

So, if you haven’t heard of this marvelous way to shop, you’re probably saying “what the heck is a sample sale”.  Well, it’s your new bestfriend that’s what it is!  There are times when designers have an excess of product at the end of a season.  When this happens they hold a “sample sale” with prices discounted as much as 70 – 80%!  Imagine getting a $800 dress for only $99.  Now are you as excited as I am? J  Just by doing a quick search online I was able to find numerous Sample Sale sites that offer sales daily.  The trick is you only have 24 – 72 hours to make a purchase for each designer sale and the items go quickly.

HauteLook is just one of the sites that I stumbled upon yesterday but so far it is my fav.  Today they are offering some great deals from these designers:

VaVa by Joy Han (90% off apparel)

Salvage (70% off tanks and dresses)

Lovina (70% off jewelry)

Deux Lux (55% off handbags)

This is a small list of the sales they have going on today.  If you’d like to see all of their great deals visit HauteLook and become a member from free!

Want to see what other sample sites have to offer, check these out:

Ideeli

The Sample Sale

I have many more sample sale sites to share with you in the coming days so stay tuned!

Spotlight On: BE FASHION

14 Jul

Last week I had the pleasure of interviewing Barbara Codner, CEO and Founder of BE FASHION, an ultra-feminine women’s online clothing boutique that retails moderately priced women’s clothing and handbags.   I first met Barbara on Black Business Women Online, a social networking for African American women in business.  I quickly became a fan of her e-boutique because of the sophisticated selection she offers at great prices. 

Get to know the woman behind the FASHION:  

MGS:  Who is your target audience?

Barbara: Our target market ranges from young adults to seniors. 

MGS:  Why did you decide to start your own business?

Barbara: I’ve always wanted to start my own business but as a business major, I knew how much work and capital was needed to start one successfully.  I didn’t initially have what I needed to start a business.  I always say that I started BE FASHION with “less than nothing.” 

MGS:  Any advice for other women that may be thinking of starting their own e-boutique business?

Barbara: The best advice that I can give other women is to make sure that what you sell represents who you are and how you want to be perceived.  I actually wear the clothing that I sell and I believe in what I do.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

MGS:  Which of your current pieces is your favorite? (please include a picture)

Barbara:  Although I love every piece that I sell, I favor pieces from Suzy Chin for Maggy Boutique, Donna Ricco, Taylor, London Times, & Karin Stevens.

 

 

MGS:  What makes BE FASHION different from other e-boutiques?

Barbara:  BE FASHION isn’t about just selling clothing, it’s about a lifestyle.   BE FASHION encourages women to not only look like a lady but to act like a lady.

Take a moment to check out BE FASHIONS great selection:

You can visit BE FASHION online at: http://www.befashiononline.com 

Facebook Fan Page: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/pages/BE-FASHION/81448199645

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/BEFASHN