Spotlight on Acquired Taste Jewelry plus a Giveaway!

30 Jun

Last week I had the pleasure of interviewing Kimberly Nicole, owner of Acquired Taste Jewelry. Kimberly is also a former high school classmate of mine which makes this post extra special to me. Its funny how it seems like it was only last year when we reminisce about our days at CHS.

Acquired Taste Jewelry features jewelry handmade by Kimberly herself with her special style and creativity.

MGS: What makes Acquired Taste Jewelry different from other jewelry retailers?

Kimberly Nicole: I try to design jewelry that is not the everyday norm and gives different options for people who like stylish and creative pieces and are looking for the next different accessories to make their outfits pop.

MGS: When did you discover your passion for creating jewelry? 

Kimberly Nicole: In my youth as a little girl and even now I’ve always had a passion for making things with my hands, and the arts. I discovered making jewelry as a hobby in one of my favorite craft stores, and it has build years later into a fascinating business.

MGS: Why did you decide to start your own business?

Kimberly Nicole: I started making jewelry for friends and family back in 2000. My mother encouraged me to make a business out of doing what I love. I decided to make it official in 2008 

MGS: Any advice for other women that may be thinking of starting their own jewelry business?

Kimberly Nicole: Start off with a plan covering all your basic necessities to get started ,build a fan base through family, friends, church members , co-workers, sororities , friends of friends etc etc (get your business name out there), also keep the faith in your business, don’t get down or discouraged 🙂

MGS: Which of your current pieces is your favorite?

Kimberly Nicole: It’s kind of weird but there is a pair of green spotted earrings that are my favorite, they don’t match very much in my closet but they are so cute to me LOL.

MGS: Do you offer custom pieces for those wanting to match a certain outfit?

Kimberly Nicole: Oh yes! I love making custom pieces. I’ve had clients send me photos of things from a piece of fabric, a shade of color/texture, and even a photo of a dress. Whatever I am given I will work with to create a beautiful piece.

You have a chance to win one of Kimberly Nicole’s exclusive pieces, this Summer Beaded Wire Wrap Bracelet:

 

MAIN ENTRY:

 Go to  Acquired Taste Jewelry and tell us which piece is your favorite in the comments below. 

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES:

Subscribe to My Glam Squad by entering your email address at the top of the side menu.

Add Acquired Taste Jewelry on Facebook. 

Follow My Glam Squad on Twitter and then leave a comment below for an additional entry.

 Tweet the following message and leave a comment below with your tweet URL:

Win a Summer Beaded Wire Wrap Bracelet from Acquired Taste Jewelry – http://wp.me/pWnRT-1I

Blog about this giveaway and then come back and leave a direct link to your blog post.

You MUST add a comment for each of your entries.  The winner will be selected by a randomizer based on the comment numbers.

 WHEN DOES THE CONTEST END:

 Wednesday, July 7th at 11:59pm.  The winner will be announced on My Glam Squad on Friday, July 9th

~Sorry, this giveaway is now closed.~

17 Responses to “Spotlight on Acquired Taste Jewelry plus a Giveaway!”

  1. Mary 06/30/2010 at 4:46 pm #

    My favorite is the Lime Shimmer Chain Necklace.

  2. Mary 06/30/2010 at 4:48 pm #

    tweeted 🙂

  3. Joy 07/01/2010 at 3:14 pm #

    I like Kimberly Nicole’s wire bracelet. The style is very sleek and comfortable. You can wear it with virtually anything.

  4. Charnette M. 07/01/2010 at 3:32 pm #

    My favorite piece was the Amber Drop Earrings, but my favorite set was the Dreamy Expressions Necklace Set.

  5. Jackie Keg 07/01/2010 at 3:57 pm #

    My favorite was the Chandelier Lilly Anna earrings. I’ve actually been looking for a pair like this for the summer, so I may consider buying! Thanks for the introduction to Kim’s company. 🙂

  6. Ellen 07/02/2010 at 8:59 am #

    I can’t pick just one…but I love the Amber Drop earrings, the Bali Beaded Chandelier earrings, and the Bluegreen Dangle earrings are BEAUTIFUL. The Egyptian Expression necklace is my favorite. Okay, I’ve decided. My favorite: Egyptian Expressions. 🙂

  7. Kay 07/02/2010 at 10:57 am #

    Even though this isn’t really my type of jewlery my favorite is the Flirty Pink Japanese pendant necklace.

  8. Erin 07/03/2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Love the Summer Fun Pink Pendant Chain Necklace

  9. Sunnie Johnson 07/03/2010 at 3:29 pm #

    My favorite piece is the Electric Blue Antiqued Silver Bracelet. It’s beautiful!

  10. Mary 07/06/2010 at 7:00 pm #

    Following you on twitter & tweeted again 🙂

  11. Angie Bailey 07/07/2010 at 9:36 am #

    I love the Native Expressions Bracelets.

  12. Angie Bailey 07/07/2010 at 9:37 am #

    I subscribe to you via email.

  13. Angie Bailey 07/07/2010 at 9:37 am #

    I follow you on Twitter @theladya.

  14. Jennifer Peters 07/07/2010 at 3:36 pm #

    I follow you On twitter and Tweet as @JK8675309

  15. Jennifer Peters 07/07/2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Im a FB Fan Of Acquired Taste Jewelery designs 🙂

  16. Jennifer Peters 07/07/2010 at 3:39 pm #

    And My Fav Piece from ATJD is the Wire hoop earrings, lime green acrylic beads with blue seed beed. Fish Hook They are devine 🙂

Comments are closed.

